17 Comments
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I really enjoy Thoreau. Joe (my brother who also gets your newsletter) and I live close to Walden Pond and Concord and have spent a lot of time up there. It would be a great family vacation for you to see the area and you could also visit the American revolutionary sites in Lexington and concord!

I personally think Thoreau is at his best in the chapters, “The Ponds” and the “Ponds in Winter”. Reading an annotated version (the one with the forward by Walter Harding is the best) is definitely worth it.

His journals, in my opinion, is where he really shines, so definitely pick them up!

Walls’ biography is excellent. So is Richardson’s (his bio on Emerson is incredible!) One book you might want to add to your list is Thoreau’s Morning Work by Daniel Peck.

Finally, Great Courses has an excellent course on the Transcendentalists. You can find it on Audible.

Enjoy!

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I'm currently reading Dassow Walls' biography. I am about 100 pages in and it has already helped me understand Thoreau much, much better. (And I have returned to "Walden" a few times over the years - not a flex.) I have started to take a slow-read approach to the bio. Going into slow-read mode is how I know that I am reading something that will stick for a long time.

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

Jeremy, thank you for all you do in this newsletter. You make my reading richer.

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

There is also a play about Thoreau called “The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail” written by the same dramatists who wrote “Inherit the Wind”, about Thoreau’s refusal to pay taxes (and subsequent jail time) because of the United States government's involvement in the Mexican War, which Thoreau thought was unjust and just an excuse to spread slavery. Thoreau wrote “Civil Disobedience” after that. I personally find that part of Thoreau’s life more interesting than his Walden experiences.

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I love the Penguin edition you featured ‘The Portable Thoreau’; Penguin has such beautiful, inviting covers. They make reading that much more enjoyable. I will definitely be getting a copy. Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment
Feb 9Liked by Jeremy Anderberg

I'm going to rush right out for "Henry at Work" - thanks for the rec!

Expand full comment

How do you keep your notes for books in your Google Docs? Any certain template you follow or methodology?

Expand full comment

Thanks, Jeremy! I’m looking for slow reads for my mornings—just a few pages here and there during breakfast. The way you described how you read Walden resonates with me. Thanks for the rec and this newsletter!

Expand full comment